Montana State University

College of Agriculture

P.O. Box 172860
Bozeman, MT 59717-2860

Tel: (406) 994-3681
Fax: (406) 994-6579
Location: 202 Linfield Hall

Vice President for Agriculture:

Charles Boyer

College of Agriculture & Montana Agricultural Experiment Station

Outstanding Agricultural Leaders

The Outstanding Agricultural Leader Award is a statewide award given to individuals or couples who are or have been involved in agriculture, either production or agribusiness, and have exhibited outstanding leadership in Montana agriculture. This award has been presented by the College of Agriculture since 1999.

The selection criteria for the award may be found here.

The deadline for nominations for the 2015 award is August 28, 2015. An online form is provided here (in fillable-PDF format, the free Adobe Reader required) for award nominations. For more information about this award please contact Robin Happel at (406) 994-3681.

Year Awardee City
2015 Max and Kirsti Cederberg Turner
2015 Lola Raska Belt
2014 Don Burnham Helena
2014 Sky Anderson and Monica Switzer Shields Valley
2013 Bing Von Bergen Moccasin
2013 Tom and Mary Kay Milesnick Belgrade
2012 Larry and Madge Pilster Alzada
2012 Dale Schuler Carter
2011 Diana Alkire Bozeman
2011 Dan Lake Ronan
2011 Richard Owen Geraldine
2010 Janice Mattson Chester
2010 Dan Kidd Big Sandy
2010 Pam Langley (deceased) Helena
2009 John Swanz Judith Gap
2009 John Youngberg Belgrade
2008 Taylor Brown Huntley
2008 Les Graham Bozeman
2007 John C. Paugh, Jr. Bozeman
2006 Lochiel ("Locky") Edwards Big Sandy
2006 Gary Broyles Rapelje
2005 Jake Cummins Bozeman
2005 Tom & Carol Peterson
2005 Jon & Sharla Tester Big Sandy
2004 Donald Fast Glasgow
2004 Charles "Chuck" McGlothlin
Park City
2004 Gene Surber Bozeman
2004 Robert "Bob" Hanson White Sulphur Springs
2003 Robert, Ann and Earl Boettcher Big Sandy
2003 Harlin and Jodi Steiger Forsyth
2002 Kevin Halverson Big Timber
2002 David L. McClure Lewistown
2002 Greg Bennett Ronan
2002 Senator Conrad Burns Washington, D.C.
2001 Vern and Naomi Pluhar Cohagen
2001 Greg Gould and Dr. Aimee Hachigian-Gould Ulm
2000 Don and Bernadine Lake Ronan
2000 Ralph Peck Helena
2000 Ole Ueland Silver Bow & Deer Lodge Counties
1999 Magnus Aasheim Antelope
1999 Robert Bellows Miles City
1999 Lynn Cornwell Glasgow
1999 Don Herzog Rapelje

Prior to 1999, the Outstanding Agriculturalist Award was presented by the Montana Aggies who honored a successful farm or ranch operator or agribusiness person who has or is exhibiting leadership in his or her community as well as statewide. Criteria included leadership, involvement, entrepreneurship, initiative, success, commitment to the agricultural sector, and career in the private sector. Their recent awardees are listed below.

Year Awardee City
1998 Bob Thoft Stevensville
1998 Don Steinbeisser Sidney
1998 Bill Jones Choteau
1998 Kathleen Hanson Melville
1997 Marie A. Hovland Great Falls
1997 Glenn & Mary Ann Moore Billings
1997 Mark & Nancy Peterson Havre
1997 John & Florence Young Decker
1996 Frank & Faye Thompson Wolf Creek
1996 Mack & Dorothea Quin Big Sandy
1996 Bill & Charlotte Mathers Miles City
1996 Terry Murphy Cardwell
1995 Larry & Molly Descheemaeker Lewistown
1995 Dean & Hope Folkvord Three Forks
1995 Bob & Kathy Lee Judith Gap
1995 John "Bud" & Joanne Leuthold Billings
1995 Chuck & Stephanie Merja Sun River
1995 Rick & Mary Sampsen Dagmar